My 2022 Wrap-up

  • January

    In October 2021, I began studying Java in preparation for developing Android apps, and I worked on a few little projects. I discovered Flutter, a cross-platform mobile framework, after conducting a further study in the area of mobile programming. Up until January, I used flutter to create a few front-end projects while also looking for internship opportunities. At this point, a friend introduced me to a person who worked for a marketing startup and was looking for a mobile application developer to hire. I had an interview, they examined all of the front-end projects, and I began my first-ever internship. It was a great feeling!

  • February

    A client requested an e-commerce application, with a product catalogue, add-to-cart functionality, and online payment, as well as an admin panel website for the client to manage the application and a navigation application for delivery partners. I started working on the main application. I utilised Firebase for the back end and Flutter for the front end (I was supposed to handle all the designing myself). Here, I realised the significance of providing results within the allotted time limit and working effectively.

  • March - April

    The coding phase of JP Morgan's Code-for-Good began in March. Sadly, I was unable to pass the online interview round even though I passed the online coding test.

    I started working on the delivery partner application and the admin panel. I discovered the value of clean code, architecture, and project planning at this point. At this point, I was pulling out my hair trying to fix the bugs in all three applications. It was an extremely challenging phase because the client kept making modifications.

    All of the applications were finally finished and published in the play store.

    Links :

    The main application

    Delivery application

  • May

    The Internship officially ended and the Sem-4 end-semester started which was the first offline semester for our batch. After the end-semester ended, I wasted an entire month watching The Office and just doing nothing. This is the thing which I regret the most about.

  • June

    A notice for an internship was shared in our college groups around the end of the month. It was an IOT-based startup that our college graduates had developed. I applied for it and was hired for the position of application development intern. Now, this was a proper internship unlike the previous one. I got the entire plan of the application that was supposed to be developed which helped me take decisions accordingly. I got the offer letter via mail, signed the acceptance letter and I was in!

  • July

    I was first given the assignment to research the codebase of one of their applications and was then expected to code appropriately. After that, I started to code the application from scratch. The primary difficulty I first encountered was figuring out how to use numerous Firebase accounts (which was very smart as it allowed us to remain in the free tier).

  • August - September - October

    Worked there for four months and picked up a lot of fresh knowledge. There was a very relaxed atmosphere. It was fantastic going there whenever I was called because the office was on the 18th floor of the Bombay Stock Exchange building and had an amazing sea view. Also, bought a guitar for me, paid for my wi-fi, and had a table and an office chair. I began learning about Blockchain technology at this time. Following a tutorial, I developed an NFT marketplace and learned solidity. I created a project with Node.js, Express, and MongoDB, but I haven't yet connected it to the flutter front end.

  • November

    Built Dapps and began exploring the field after learning about deploying smart contracts, solidity, truffle, hardhat, and ganache.

  • December

    %[youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9gnSGHSqcnr_DxH..

    I started learning DSA from Kunal Kushwaha's DSA playlist. I enjoyed his teaching style and watched half of the videos that are now available. I started to solve leetcode problems for the first time, and I did so for a continuous thirteen days until losing track due to the end-semester. Additionally, I started exploring previous years' GSoC projects in the Dart/Flutter domain to contribute to.

    Kunal has motivated me to participate in open-source projects and learn in public because it offers more opportunities. I'm eager to master DSA and mobile development this year.